General Information

General Information

      علم صربيا        شعار صربيا        خريطة صربيا
The capital: Belgrade

The Language: Serbian

National Anthem: Bože Pravde (God give us justice)

Total area: 88.361 square kilometers

Length of international borders: 2114 kilometers

Administrative divisions: Serbia (except Kosovo) is devised to 25 districts and has 138 municipalities and 23 cities. It has two autonomous regions: Vojvodina region in the north of the country and Kosovo and Metohia in the south.

Time zone: Central Europe GMT + 1

Electrical appliances:Voltage: 220V

Frequency: 50 Hz

 National currency: Serbian dinar (RSD) is the national currency of Serbia. Money can be exchanged in banks and exchange offices and ATMs.

Credit cards: ATMs will accept major credit cards and are placed all around the country, also the majority of restaurants, hotels, travelling agencies, petrol stations and stores accepts credit cards.

 Taxes: VAT is 20%

 Telephone calls: international call key 00381


Population: population of Serbia (according to statistics from 2011) is 7,243 million.

Population density: 92.8 inhabitants per square kilometer

Ethnic groups in Serbia: Serbs 83%, Hungarians 3.5%, Roma 2%, Bosniaks 2%, others 9%.

Religion: Christianity (Orthodox 84%, Catholics 6%) Muslims 3%.

People and politics

Political system: parliamentary republic

The political system in Serbia is a parliamentary republic, and the president of the republic, which is an honorary post, is being elected directly by the voters. While the prime minister who has all the executive authorities is being nominated by the president of the republic and has to get the trust of the parliament after forming his government. Elections are carried out in the whole country and are consisting of lists, every list have to get more than 5% of votes for it to get parliamentary seats.

The President of the Republic:H.E. Mr. Aleksandar Vucic

The Prime Minister: H.E. Ms. Ana Brnabic

The ruling party: Serbian Progressive Party